About Moltkes Palæ
The story of Moltkes Palæ
In the very heart of Copenhagen you can find a 300-year-old historical mansion.
Moltkes Palæ has been a historically protected building since the 1930s, with unique architecture and furnishings that reflect the unmistakable personality of a mansion dating back to 1702. This rich history has left its mark on the extraordinary details of the sophisticated halls and parlours, which have been lovingly refurbished and restored over the years.
For over three hundred years, Moltkes Palæ has been the home of counts, wealthy merchants, a Dowager Queen, Denmark’s first prime minister and a wide array of many other worthy personages. Each and every one has left their distinctive mark on Moltkes Palæ. Such as the wealthy merchant Frédéric de Coninck. A hospitable family man who frequently invited friends, family and acquaintances to parties, parlour visits and gatherings. For this reason, de Coninck was dedicated to making the mansion suitable for hosting large gatherings, and to beautifying his home for his guests with ornamentation that included several stunning landscape paintings by the masterly Erik Paulesen, which can today be seen in the Dronninggaard Salon. All portray the former estate of Dronninggaard – a country house on the shores of Furesø Lake that once belonged to Queen Sophie Amalie. Frédéric de Coninck acquired the estate in 1783 and built the mansion on the grounds, entitled Næsseslottet, which still exist till this very day. The landscape paintings, as well as the name of the parlour itself, can therefore be considered as a tribute to the origins of his beloved country estate.
Small tales and anecdotes like these are little gems hidden throughout this magnificent edifice. Such as Dowager Queen Juliane Marie, who lived at the mansion for the two years preceding her passing, and who bore witness to the love triangle drama between King Christian VII, Queen Caroline Mathilde, and royal physician J.F. Struensee. Or the eccentric Friederike Brun, who was one of the nineteenth century’s most avid “parlour hosts”, to which she invited the leading artists and intellectuals of the day.
The Copenhagen mansion was originally named ’Gyldenløve’s little mansion’ after the man who constructed it: Ulrik Frederik Gyldenløve, son of King Frederik III. The name was changed to Moltkes Palæ in 1852, after the new owner, Adam W. Moltke, Denmark’s first prime minister. He acquired the building and passed it on to his sons. On the first floor, a large hall was dedicated for the purpose of showcasing the Moltke family’s large painting collection. Today, this hall is known as Gyldne Sal.
After the Moltke era, the ownership of Moltkes Palæ was transferred from private hands to a craftsmen’s association. This took place in 1930 when the building was sold to Håndværkerforeningen København (Association of Craftsmen in Copenhagen). The association has since selected a number of leaseholders to operate Moltkes Palæ as a distinguished banquet venue.
As of 1 January 2021, Evenues was selected as the new leaseholder of Moltkes Palæ.